top of page

11 Things I'm Still Not Used To

s

Little differences, big change

I knew that studying abroad would be a totally mind blowing experience, but I didn’t realize that it would be the little things that threw me off more than huge culture differences. I expected to be lost in a city I didn’t know, and thwarted by language barriers, and awed by huge ornate temples. But I didn’t expect the reality that it’s the little differences that are surprising me the most. Yes, the temples are breathtaking, and the language barrier is a struggle, but perhaps it’s because I was anticipating those changes that they haven’t thrown me completely off course.

11 Things I’m still not used to:

  1. Thai people wearing long pants and jackets in extremely humid 90 degree weather

I see Thai people wearing sweaters, jeans, and once a leather jacket in this hellishly hot climate, and I am stunned eveytime. I start sweating just looking at them. Oh wait, I was already sweating. That’s just the perpetual state of being here.

  1. Not being able to flush toilet paper

It feels very wrong to toss TP in a trashcan, but the pipes can’t take it. A lot of places don’t even have toilet paper, so I’ve learned to always carry some with me!

  1. Not being able to drink water from the tap

Growing up in Colorado has spoiled me, and now I am paying for it. I am used to flipping on the tap and drinking straight from the sink, and it has been a major struggle refraining from that. You also have to buy plastic bottled water at restaurants, because most don’t have free water.

  1. A meal costing as much as a drink

And sometimes even less! Pay 70 baht for a meal? It’s not uncommon that your beer was 100. I’ve had a meal for 25 baht, and turned the corner and paid 45 for a cup of coffee.

  1. Restaurants/ food vendor hours

They don’t open till 10AM, but then it seems like they’re out all night long!

  1. Thai families fitting a ridiculous amount of people on a tiny scooter

Including babies and children, usually with no helmets. Not to mention they whip around cars, people, and don't always obey traffic laws.

  1. No “breakfast” food

This is not a huge deal because I keep granola and soy milk in my room, but still a surprise to me. People here eat soup for breakfast!

  1. Bartering for prices

I’m so used to seeing or hearing a set price that I forget that it is acceptable to barter here with street vendors. I’ve successfully talked one vendor down to 140 from 180 baht, and I felt pretty snazzy.

  1. Hearing people in the street speaking English

Whenever I pass another farang (foreigner) and hear snippets of a conversation in English my head whips around to see who they are. Do I know you?? We speak the same language, we could be related!

  1. The cuteness of EVERYTHING

There are little cartoons and bright colors are everywhere. I see pink pharmacies, adorable dentist offices, and the cutest elephants for the CMU mascot. They’re not trying to be big/tough/intimidating, they’re trying to be the cutest freakin’ university in the world.

  1. Rock hard beds

Apparently since it’s always so hot here, everyone has ridiculously firm mattresses so it doesn’t absorb as much heat. But I am NOT getting used to it.

Thailand is still surprising me, and I don’t expect that to stop anytime soon. Every turn is an adventure and a challenge, but I can already tell that this experience is going to change me as a person. I know it seems cheesy and cliche, but how could I not change? This is the biggest leap I’ve taken so far, the scariest, most exciting, nerve wracking thing I’ve done. I still can’t believe that I talked myself into it, but I am also very glad that I did. I needed that lapse in my own character to push myself, so here I am!

-Rebekah

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page